T-shirts as brand indicators

T-shirts have been generally accepted outer apparel for years now. Generally they are plain or branded to reflect the designer or manufacturer or a billboard for a cause, statement, institution or personal reflection.

I am a believer in the power of t-shirts. When you see enough of them – as I do Abercrombie and Fitch – I conclude that this is a popular and powerful brand. When I see a t-shirt on an influential person, I think brand endorsement. If I see someone with a city or university branded t-shirt I think of pride of association.

When I was the entrepreneur-in-residence at Laurier University, I had a t-shirt made. I used a university t-shirt and added my title to the back so that I was a walking billboard for my role. It made people aware of the role and identified me as the individual who provided the service. I was no longer just a stranger in their midst.

As I now volunteer with my own alma mater I wear a new t-shirt. This one I wear with pride in the great learning institution that is the University of Toronto. In my new role to engage and connect my fellow alumni with each other and the University, I can think of no better enabler than to have all alum also proudly wear the t-shirt.

That way we could walk down the street, anywhere UofT alumni happen to be, and see not only our community but pride amplified. Don’t underestimate the power of a t-shirt as a visible brand indicator.

Leave a Reply

