Expanding my world by doing small things

As part of my new life I’m making time for fun. I happen to live in a city that is filled with things to do and now I have time for them. Many of them are cultural or cause related.

I’ve also made the bridge from going to many of these events to volunteering at the events. It’s a little low level work for a strategic volunteer, but I thought I’d give it a try. There’s no doubt that the causes are worthwhile and I’m giving something back to events that have and do enrich my life.

Tip: Friend your favourite events in Facebook. It’s a common method for events to solicit volunteers.

It’s a role that is typical of retirees and specially women. I hate being typical. But as a friend said to me, “it’s a chance to meet folks with similar interests.”

That’s the gift I’ve received from my new direction as a volunteer – it has introduced me to a broad spectrum of people I would have never otherwise met.

Leave a Reply

