My own report card

It’s been 3 months and I finally have some interesting and hopefully valuable work to do.

When I started out on this journey, everyone was impressed by the title Strategic Volunteer. They thought it promised great value but they warned that it would take quite a bit of effort to find fitting opportunities. And they were right.

Organizations that are taking me up on my offer of strategic help are doing so as a test or with isolated projects. Non profits that use volunteers regularly, are set up to use them for specific purposes – usually committee helpers (think fundraising) or service delivery (think mentors, literacy tutors). At a strategic level, most think board membership which may or may not be an active role depending on the organization.

And so I am delighted to be invited to help a variety of non profit organizations.

  • One is small and I am working with the founder who needs a strategic framework to help guide the organization forward.
  • Another is a large organization that has given me a marketing/PR project that can be done by an outsider and if successful will be of great value.
  • Another organization who is located miles away from where I am, is leveraging the Web Goddess, my former life. This is a young organization, global and modern social technologies are at the heart of their organization.

I’m sure there will be more in my future, that these are just the beginning of my new path. I’ll keep you posted.

Leave a Reply

